The National Nurturing Schools Award (NNSA)

An award for schools that have attended the National Nurturing Schools Programme (NNSP) and which have succeeded in creating a nurturing culture for the children and young people in their care.

How is it awarded?

The award is assessed against a set of NNSP Standards, outlined during the National Nurturing Schools Programme, which cover three main areas: Stakeholders, Delivery, and Leadership & Management.

To establish that a school is meeting each of these Standards, we gather evidence via discussion, interviews and observation, as well as by reviewing any electronic evidence provided during our assessment. 

Pupils walking in school
Two boys sitting next to each other in a school classroom

What are the benefits?

The award is evidence of a school’s success in implementing and embedding a nurturing culture that responds to the social, emotional and mental health needs of its pupils, alongside their academic studies.

The award therefore helps a school to demonstrate its achievements in this area – for example to school inspectors – or to promote this work to current or prospective parents of its pupils.  

Children and young people benefit: from an approach that places their strengths and needs at the heart of practice, allowing them to flourish and be the best they can be.

 Parents and caregivers benefit:  from being involved and welcomed in the school, in seeing the improvement children and young peoples learning, behaviour, confidence and attendance.

Staff benefit:
from a renewed focus on their pupils and a culture of change where every voice counts.

 Schools benefit:
from showing their commitment to developing an ethos and culture that is inclusive and supports everyone associated with the school.

Communities benefit: from having a school that wants to be at the heart of the community and demonstrates its central role in children and young people’s lives.

Applying for the NNSA

Only schools who have undertaken the National Nurturing Schools Programme can apply for this award. The award is valid for 3 years, after which a school needs to re-apply.

Further information regarding the application process will be given to schools on the programme.